IELTS reading test tips

I’m Silvia, from Spain, and I’m taking the IELTS exam. I’ve attended the IELTS Preparation course at Venture English and I feel I’m ready to do it. Fingers crossed!!

2014-08-30 20.19.43

First of all, I’ve chosen this particular Academic Exam because I’ve decided to apply for a Postgraduate Program.

Did you know that the IELTS exam consists of 4 parts: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking?

Let’s start talking about the Reading part:

  • Duration: 60 minutes.
  • What kind of texts?: Anything from books, journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • What kind of questions?: multiple choice, identifying information, identifying writer’s views/claims, matching information, matching headings, matching features, matching sentence endings, sentence completion, summary completion, note completion, table completion, flow-chart completion, diagram label completion, short-answer questions.

So then, here are a couple of my tips for doing the IELTS reading exam:

What do I do? I read, read and read(!) all kinds of texts, and in a variety of subjects. I also learn how to manage my time in the exam through training tests. The internet is full of free examples of Academic Reading, so just try one and check your level.

Leave a Reply

