Food idioms in English

This week we’re going to explore the world of Food Idioms, and we’ll begin with sweet things.

What would you think if someone tells you these sentences?

  • The exam was a piece of cake. I am pretty sure I will pass it.
  • When I was a teenager, my parents thought I was as nutty as a fruitcake.
  • That’s the way the cookie crumbles. In the end it didn’t happen the way I’d hoped.

Let’s check them out one by one:

  • The exam was a piece of cake. I am pretty sure I will pass it.

–  A piece of cake:

Back Camera

I know, the first meaning that comes to mind is that there is nothing sweet in an exam. And you aren’t wrong! But here it means that the exam was easy. So, next time you hear this sentence, REMEMBER! Cake is easy!

  • When I was a teenager, my parents thought I was as nutty as a fruitcake.

– Nutty: tasting of nuts.

– Fruitcake: cake made with fruit.

Do you have any clue about it? Forget it. It’s nothing to do with what you are thinking. The real meaning? My parents thought I was mad.

nutty

  • That’s the way the cookie crumbles. In the end it didn’t happen the way I’d hoped.

– Cookie: biscuit.

– Crumble: fall apart.

cookie

 

  • Here we have another difficult quiz. Any idea? No?  Well, that’s the way the cookie crumbles: That’s life and we can’t change it.

 

I leave you a funny video about Idioms and Tea from the BBC. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

